Skip to main content

User Roles and Permissions

Learn about the individual user roles and what each role can view, create, update and delete in Superchat.

Written by Inka Seidel

Superchat has three different user roles, Admin, Supervisor and Member. Here is an abstract definition of what each user role is able to see and do in Superchat.

For more information on granular permissions of what each user can view, create, edit and delete, please view the tables further down the article.

Roles

Permissions

Admin

Can access, edit and delete all resources and settings in:

  • Automations

  • Campaigns

  • Contact Hub

  • Reviews

  • Settings, including

    • AI Agent Settings

    • Channel Settings

    • Contact Attribute and Contact List Settings

    • Files

    • Inbox Settings

    • Labels

    • Plan and Billing Settings

    • Team Members

    • Templates (Generic and WhatsApp Templates)

    • Webchat Widget

    • Workspace Settings (Company Name, Default Timezone)

  • Team Chat

  • Unified Inbox (all inboxes)

Supervisor

Can access

  • Automations (can build and edit automations but not publish automations)

  • Campaigns

  • Contact Hub (cannot create contact exports)

  • Reviews

  • Team Chat

  • Unified Inbox (all conversations of inboxes they've been assigned to)

Member

Can access

  • Contact Hub (cannot create contact exports)

  • Team Chat

  • Unified Inbox (assigned conversations only)


Granular Permissions

The tables below provide a detailed breakdown of what each role can do across four action types, View, Create, Edit and Delete.

View

Feature

Member

Supervisor

Admin

Unified Inbox (assigned conversations)

✅

✅

✅

Unified Inbox (all conversations)

❌

✅

✅

Contact Hub

✅

✅

✅

Campaigns

❌

✅

✅

Automations

❌

✅

✅

Reviews

❌

✅

✅

Team Chat

✅

✅

✅

Settings

❌

❌

✅

Analytics

❌

❌

✅

AI Agent

❌

❌

✅

Templates

❌

❌

✅

Files / Drive

❌

❌

✅


Create

Feature

Member

Supervisor

Admin

New conversation

✅ (unless the contact has already had a conversation in an inbox the member cannot access)

✅

✅

Contact

✅

✅

✅

Contact export

❌

❌

✅

Campaigns

❌

✅

✅

Automation

❌

✅

✅

Template

❌

❌

✅

Label

❌

❌

✅

Inbox

❌

❌

✅

AI Agent

❌

❌

✅


Update / Edit

Feature

Member

Supervisor

Admin

Contact data

✅

✅

✅

Automation

❌

✅ (cannot publish)

✅

Campaigns

❌

✅

✅

Template

❌

❌

✅

AI Agent

❌

❌

✅

Workspace settings

❌

❌

✅

Channel settings

❌

❌

✅

Team members

❌

❌

✅

Plan & Billing

❌

❌

✅


Delete

Feature

Member

Supervisor

Admin

Conversation

❌

✅

✅

Contact

❌

✅

✅

Automation

❌

❌

✅

Campaigns

❌

✅

✅

Template

❌

❌

✅

Label

❌

❌

✅

Inbox

❌

❌

✅

AI Agent

❌

❌

✅

Team member

❌

❌

✅

FAQ

I just upgraded a colleague's admin rights. Why can they not see all inboxes?
​
When you upgrade a member's rights, their access to inboxes is not automatically updated. You need to manually select which inboxes they should now have access to. If the user that has been upgraded is now an admin, they are able to do this themselves.
​

Did this answer your question?